Author Topic: oal length what is normal distance to rifling  (Read 589 times)

Offline zlngr

• Trade Count: (0)
oal length what is normal distance to rifling
« on: September 26, 2010, 10:27:33 PM »
I am just beginning to load for my NEF 22-250 and after reading lots about seating bullets closer to rifling I have a question.  I slip a bullet loosely in a once fired case and chamber it in the rifle  it ends up at 2.458" overall.   minimum I believe is 2.35  is .1" normal ?  seems to me that it might be a bit much, I'm wondering if that may be part of the reason I was having trouble finding an accurate factory load for this rifle.  any advice???

Offline wncchester

Re: oal length what is normal distance to rifling
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2010, 03:43:04 AM »
"oal length what is normal distance to rifling "

There is no "normal distance."   Even the "same" rifle chambers from the same plant will vary by production runs.

Book OAL is no more a law that their powder charges are; they just tell us what they used when developing the data.  It's up to us to find what works best in our rigs.

Loading to the lands is rarely the most accurate position for factory rifles.  Most shoot better from .020"  to as much as 5 times that off the lands for best accuracy but we do need to know with some accuracy where the rifleing is to do that. 
Common sense is an uncommon virtue

Offline SHOOTALL

« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2010, 04:09:10 AM »