Author Topic: bullet seating  (Read 900 times)

Offline billd

• Trade Count: (0)
bullet seating
« on: December 27, 2010, 02:41:11 PM »
I tried sighting in a new accura v2  and had pretty good results.   I was wondering when reloding should the bullet seat the same distance after every shot?  I noticed one time the ramrod did not go as far into the barrel.  i shot only three shots between cleaning using 2 50 grn pellets  friend says its because of the fouling.  Im new to muzz loaders and not sure how much pressure to apply. I havent tried loose powder but read it burns alot cleaner. thanks for any replies billd. 

Offline Buckskins & Black Powder

• Trade Count: (16)
    • Buckskins & Black Powder
Re: bullet seating
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2010, 03:54:34 PM »
what you found was the crud ring.

Certain primers are HOT and when shooting pyrodex, american pioneer, T7, it leaves a crud ring, Its a hard crusty carbon build up.  In order to stay clear of this, you MUST swab the bore in between shots to remove powder fouling.

You MUST mark your ramrod - range rod so you can if the bullet is off the powder charge or not.  Leaving a gap between the powder-bullet can cause either a bulged barrel or worse, a burst barrel.

Offline billd

• Trade Count: (0)
« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2010, 05:38:57 PM »
Thanks big block. Would changing powders or primers help any ?  Do you know of any websites besides this one about muzzeloading?

Offline Buckskins & Black Powder

• Trade Count: (16)
    • Buckskins & Black Powder
« Reply #3 on: December 27, 2010, 05:43:03 PM »
winchester 777 or cci inline MZL primers would help.

Offline carbineman

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (58)
« Reply #4 on: December 28, 2010, 03:00:06 AM »
Thanks big block. Would changing powders or primers help any ?  Do you know of any websites besides this one about muzzeloading?