Author Topic: Stock Finishing Questions  (Read 774 times)

Offline Glockfan

• Trade Count: (0)
Stock Finishing Questions
« on: December 29, 2010, 07:48:31 PM »
I did read the FAQ and saw that Tru-Oil is recommended first off. I am just wanting to explore all options before making a decision. Preface : I have a .308 Survivor... I have done EVERYTHING listed on here to break in/prep/accurize, and ensure the rifle is firing as accurately as possible. My grouping is still sub-par. I am positive that the problem is my forend (that much I have determined through shooting with the forend off) So... I looked at buying some new hardware for the gun... and in the classifieds section.. I saw what I wanted for sale : http://www.gboreloaded.com/forums/index.php/topic,220600.0.html
...then I decided I wanted to try and make it myself. Which I must say I am THOROUGHLY enjoying. I have found that I really like working with wood, but unfortunately I am very new to it. So I am not moving fast.. I want to take my time and do a good job on my first stock. What i am making will hopefully look similar to that link of what was sold. However, I am wanting to use a semi-transparent finish and have a darker color. As for my finish though... what is wrong with just using an exterior finish like:  http://www.olympic.com/stain/Find_Products/semi_maximum.aspx     ? Is there a reason a stain/sealer like this should be avoided? I'm assuming Oil Based is best, but would a water based do the job? Or would it not be as good. Like I said, I want to take the time and do it right.. so this isn't gonna be something I finish anytime soon. I'm enjoying myself too much to rush it anyway. When I am finished with my project I will post pictures of the results and range report, but I thought best to get some of the xperts advice on here before doing anything.