Author Topic: DeLorme PN-40: Cold weather behavior  (Read 1383 times)

Offline doc_kreipke

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Avid Poster
DeLorme PN-40: Cold weather behavior
« on: December 07, 2010, 06:48:05 AM »
Dunno if this is characteristic of other GPS trackers; submitted FYI:

I was out hiking in about 25 degree weather with the PN-40 on the outside of my coat. After about a half hour, I noticed that the unit suddenly had lost its ability to zoom in closer than 1:96,000 (0.5 mile on the bar scale). Figuring that the cold might have something to do with it, I dropped the unit down inside my coat. After about 10 minutes of warming up, the unit was functioning normally again.

So, if your PN-40 acts up in the cold, a bit of warming might get it back on track again.
-K

Offline Siskiyou

Re: DeLorme PN-40: Cold weather behavior
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2010, 09:11:15 PM »

Unfortunately I have no experience with DeLorme gps units.  I have used a couple of their mapping products.  I believe the PN-40 is rated at -20 C which indicates to me that at 25˚ F the issue maybe with the state of your battery.  It would be interesting to hear what type of battery you are using and if it is the DeLorme Lithium the state of the charge at the start of your hike.

I like your warming the battery hint.

After a long career as a first responder using different generations of portable radios, and different batteries it is hard to beat good Alkaline AA batteries for dependability.  The down side is cost unless Uncle Sugar is buying. 

Cold temperatures are hard on batteries; battery type and age of the battery(s) are critical factors in the cold.  Reading some reviews on the PN-40 indicate that it might be a little harder on batteries then the PN-20.  Hopefully Lloyd from the world of cold and PN-20 will help us out here.