Author Topic: 460 S&W question  (Read 637 times)

Offline ecgate

• Trade Count: (10)
460 S&W question
« on: January 19, 2011, 01:33:12 PM »
I am new to loading 460 s&w. Do you use .451 or.452 bullets for reloading a 460 s&w? And if you can use both what is the difference?

Offline 243dave

• Trade Count: (0)
  • A Real Regular
Re: 460 S&W question
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2011, 07:17:11 PM »
The only difference is a thousandth of a inch. ;D  Seriously though you can use either size.  Don't use the 230gr and under bullets made for the 45acp, the exception with light bullets is barnes x bullets.  You really need to shoot bullets made to handle the velocity the 460 generates.  Try hornady's xtp mags, not the regular xtp's made for the 45colt but the xtp's that have the word MAG after it.  The xtp mags are made in 240gr and 300grs and are recomended for velocities up to 2300 fps.  I shoot them out of a 45colt levergun at close to 454 casuall velocities and they are a extremely tough bullet thats very accurate too.  I'm sure there are others suitable for the 460 but the xtp mags is what I have experience with.    Dave     

Offline Grumulkin

• Trade Count: (33)
    • http://www.orchardphoto.com
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2011, 01:25:48 AM »
Don't use the 230gr and under bullets made for the 45acp, the exception with light bullets is barnes x bullets.  You really need to shoot bullets made to handle the velocity the 460 generates.

Pray tell, what problem(s) do you expect to encounter from shooting bullets 230 gr. and under in a 460 S&W?

Offline 243dave

• A Real Regular
« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2011, 10:05:37 AM »
Don't use the 230gr and under bullets made for the 45acp, the exception with light bullets is barnes x bullets.  You really need to shoot bullets made to handle the velocity the 460 generates.

Pray tell, what problem(s) do you expect to encounter from shooting bullets 230 gr. and under in a 460 S&W?