Author Topic: Twist Rate Affects Pressure?  (Read 870 times)

Offline HL

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Contributor
Twist Rate Affects Pressure?
« on: March 15, 2011, 04:23:16 AM »
I've been reloading for over 26 years. I just have one simple question, that will hopefully have a simple answer.

Reloading manuals show loading info for 223 based on specific barrels and twist rates. Most have their loads based on a 1-12 or 1-10.

In developing loads for a barrel with a 1-8 twist, I plan on starting with the lowest load listed in the reloading manual and working up to find an accurate load.

My question is with a 1 in 8 twist, should I really be concerned with the difference in pressure developed by a twist rate tighter than the manual calls for in their development loads, say with a 1 in 12 twist.

Any input would be appreciated.

HL

Offline charles p

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (1)
Re: Twist Rate Affects Pressure?
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2011, 09:32:45 AM »
Makes sense to me.  Seems a tighter twist rate would cause a slower initial acceleration and maybe the pressure would be greater at first.  Just an opion, mind you. 

Offline Lloyd Smale

• Moderators
  • Trade Count: (32)
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2011, 12:43:36 AM »
yes ive seen where a faster twist increased pressure. Even in a handgun.
blue lives matter

Offline Grumulkin

• Trade Count: (33)
    • http://www.orchardphoto.com
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2011, 02:22:03 AM »
Though I have no proof of it, twist probably does affect pressure but, as long as you start at the lower end of the recommended loads and work up as you should do with ANY firearm, watching for signs of excess pressure, you should have no problems.

Offline HL

• Contributor
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2011, 04:05:07 AM »
That's pretty much what I was thinking, but I've never had a rifle with a 1 in 8 twist before in this caliber. Mine have always been 1 in 12.

thanks for the replies.

HL

Offline huntducks

• Trade Count: (4)
  • Contributor