Author Topic: Lee 4-20  (Read 654 times)

Offline hornady

• Trade Count: (2)
  • Contributor
Lee 4-20
« on: April 05, 2011, 03:08:42 AM »
I posted this on another form but thought I would put it over here as well,  something to keep a eye on if you use the Lee 4-20 bottom pour pot.
Yesterday I was casting and ran into a new complaint about the Lee bottom pour pot. I have been using this pot for a couple years now. The first pot full run as well as can be expected from a Lee. But on the second pot about half way threw the arm that controls the spout started getting stiff, I should have stopped right there but kept on casting.
Then it happened, the spout stuck open.
I had muffin pans close by and did not have too much of a mess.
After the pot cooled I checked things out. It seems over the last couple years the C – shaped lift arm had sprung to the point it was binding on the top and bottom mounting screws.
 I took the arm off and straitened it back to original shape. But now I don’t trust the pot. Being bent the thin piece of steel they use for the arm will be weak and bend again.
I think I may just bite the bullet and get the Lyman or RCBS bottom pour pot.

Offline hornady

• Contributor
Re: Lee 4-20
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2011, 08:11:30 AM »
Up date, I took the handle off again, cleaned and lubed the screw bushings with Bull plate and put it back together. Better but it was still hanging up.
Checking things over on the bottom of the slide arm were it fits over the spout, I could see it was dragging on the spout as well.
I took the handle off again and opened the hole in the arm that fits over the spout up a little with the moto tool.
Everything seems to be moving smoothly now.
I think it was a combination of the arm being bent, the two screws binding, and the spout binding on the bottom.

Offline greenrivers

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Contributor
« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2011, 02:43:31 AM »