Author Topic: Fuse behavior?  (Read 603 times)

Offline carmy53

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Avid Poster
Fuse behavior?
« on: July 15, 2011, 02:59:09 PM »
I'm new to black powder and just received some fuse I ordered online. I placed a 3" piece in an ashtray and lit it so I could time the burn. The fuse scooted around the ashtray and then started to fly around the room like a rocket! A little scary watching that burning fuse fly around! Is this normal fuse behavior?

Offline gunsonwheels

• Contributor
Re: Fuse behavior?
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2011, 03:04:42 PM »
Yes... Please go outside and try to restrain the fuse's movement (put a rock or something on it).  All are pretty active with some are more active than others.  I have fuse speeds from 4 sec/ft up to 30 sec/ft.... the faster ones are more active than the slower ones.

GOW 

Offline dittles

« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2011, 03:14:10 PM »
 They will do that!  ;)  That's why it best to anchor it and not to light it inside. I to am a green horn at this and I have to say it is an addiction. Have fun and be safe!

Offline dittles

« Reply #3 on: July 15, 2011, 03:15:57 PM »
 Sorry gunsonwheels, you beat me to it.

Offline moose53

• GBO Supporter
  • Contributor
« Reply #4 on: July 15, 2011, 04:00:57 PM »
Keep in mind that on rare occasions the fuse will flash and burn almost instantly . I had a 3in piece of red varnished fuse flash on me shooting my mortar . There was almost no time between lighting and firing , good thing I was practicing safe procedures or it would have been bad. That is why the guy lighting his bowling ball cannon from the muzzle is crazy , its just a matter of time.

Offline gunsonwheels

• Contributor
« Reply #5 on: July 15, 2011, 04:03:14 PM »
I'd like to start a poll but don't know how...

How many on the board first lit a piece of fuse indoors and then were startled if not down right scared of burning the house down, by the furocity of the little sucker...  :)   :D   ;D