Author Topic: Thinking of a turret press  (Read 1261 times)

Offline Sourdough

• Trade Count: (1)
Thinking of a turret press
« on: August 07, 2011, 11:33:30 AM »
I have been using single stage presses for 50 years.  I am now retired and loading a lot of ammo for my self, my son, and the wife.  Think about upgrading, and was thinking about a turret or a progressive press.  Don't think I really reload enough for a progressive but what is the advantages of the turret press.
Where is old Joe when we really need him?  Alaska Independence    Calling Illegal Immigrants "Undocumented Aliens" is like calling Drug Dealers "Unlicensed Pharmacists"
What Is A Veteran?
A 'Veteran' -- whether active duty, discharged, retired, or reserve -- is someone who, at one point in his life, wrote a blank check made payable to 'The United States of America,' for an amount of 'up to, and including his life.' That is honor, and there are way too many people in this country today who no longer understand that fact.

Offline longwinters

• Moderators
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Thinking of a turrent press
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2011, 12:14:21 PM »
The advantage of the turret is that you can have 3 different calibers for rifle or 2 for pistol.  If you have the Redding turret you will also have room for a camlok bullet puller as it has 7 holes instead of the 6 for Lyman or RCBS.  You can also buy additional turrets so that all your calibers can be pre-set up and ready to go.

I have the RCBS that I really like, but the Redding is "the mother of the turrets" in my opinion.

Long

Life is short......eternity is long.

Offline cwlongshot

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (158)
  • Shooting, Hunting, the Outdoors & ATVs
Re: Thinking of a turret press
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2011, 12:22:23 PM »
Redding makes a great product. I bought a LYMAN and was not happy, too much play, tighten it up so that was gone and it wasn't useful as a turret...

I like my SS presses...