Author Topic: Leupold Vari-X III 4.5X14X50mm for $449???  (Read 2509 times)

Offline atmag95

• Trade Count: (0)
Leupold Vari-X III 4.5X14X50mm for $449???
« on: December 29, 2003, 08:03:58 PM »
Newbie here to GBO.com.

I have been lurking/researching a purchase of a new rifle/scope and I was just about convinced to purchase a Bushnell Elite 4200 since they are cheaper than the Vari-X III's and seem to have a nice following on these boards.

But I came across the aformentioned scope in a local gunshop since they are clearing them out for the 2004 model Vari-X III's.

What do y'all think I should do? Get the Leupold at that price or pay just a bit less for the Bushnell Elite 4200???

Thanks a bunch for the replies!!!

Offline woodseye

• Avid Poster
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2003, 12:22:55 AM »
First of all let me say the Leupold Vari X lll 4.5x14x40 AO is an excellant scope, I just traded one off for a different model. Why did I trade it? The eye position was very critical for a Leupold and I didn't need that power range for a hunting rifle. The Bushnell will be brighter and less money as well as a dandy rainguard feature thats worth its weight in gold for hunting in less than perfect conditions.

Do you need that level of power? The AO will add a lens and therefore reduce brightness slightly and the FOV will be smaller of course. I would choose the Bushnell 4200 Elite in this case (I have a 4x16x40 AO now on a varmint gun and its very nice I prefered it over the Leupold). For general hunting the 2.5x10x40 4200 is a hard scope to beat and gives a good low power range for close in or jump shooting.

Just my two cents..........they are low balling the Vari X lll's for the new VX lll's and that is a good price by the way.

woods
PUT GOD FIRST
Shoot Straight - Shoot Often - Shoot Smokeless - Shoot Savage!

Offline atmag95

« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2003, 03:30:22 AM »
Appreciate the reply!