Author Topic: gas checks-are they cost effective?  (Read 1292 times)

Offline hansg/Ups

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Avid Poster
gas checks-are they cost effective?
« on: July 21, 2011, 03:16:54 PM »
Are gas checks and their equipment[sizer,lubricator] cost effective with cast bullets,
or is one just as far ahead just using jacketed projectiles??
I'm referring to pistol calibers:357Mag,44Mag,45Colt,rifle calibers:30/30Win,358Win,38/55,45/70Govt.
Thanks.

Offline kbstenberg

• Trade Count: (7)
  • Avid Poster
Re: gas checks-are they cost effective?
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2011, 04:30:05 PM »
  I'm new to casting (2 years) But those with much more knowledge say that with a pistol a GC isn't needed till the upper edge of hot loads. But with rifles when you are pushing over 14 to 16 fps. a check is needed.  As to a sizer I started with the Lee push through an recently got an RCBS lube-sizer. I could live with just the Lee's. But I only shoot 2-300 rounds a month in all my guns.

Offline dakotashooter2

• Trade Count: (2)
  • A Real Regular
« Reply #2 on: July 26, 2011, 11:42:39 AM »
1000 gas checks will cost you about the same as 200 small caliber jacketed bullets. They are actually about the same cost as the lead for the bullet you will cast. A finished cast bullet should still be 1/3-1/4 the cost of a jacketed one.
Just another worthless opinion!!

Offline 45-70.gov

• GBO Supporter
« Reply #3 on: July 26, 2011, 01:56:19 PM »
i  find  my lead.....free

my labor  is worth.......i like to cast  so.....free

i was given  2 kegs   of powder  .......free........ minimal  cost for the rest of you

I  HAVE TO PAY FOR PRIMERS

gas checks  cost   about the same as  primers...i have to buy  them  too

GAS CHECKS  DOUBLE THE COST  OF MY AMMO........[3 cents  to  6 cents]

not  using gas checks  gives  me  twice as many rounds per  DOLLAR

will GC  ammo be twice  as good???????????

when drugs are outlawed only out laws will have drugs
DO WHAT EVER IT TAKES TO STOP A DEMOCRAT