Author Topic: 22 Hornet (again)  (Read 561 times)

Offline JAT

• Trade Count: (0)
22 Hornet (again)
« on: September 13, 2011, 08:25:00 PM »
I don't post much but this was giving me a fit and I found this thread here
(search- Re: .22 Hornet Load Problem) and it is a problem that will be repeated.
I am new to hornet and ruined a number (many) of cases the same as (Re: .22 Hornet Load Problem)this Guy.
Anyway i was loading 12 gr of Lil Gun with a sierra 40 gr HPFB and randomly blowing primers and having fits. Oh yeah it shot real good. 13 grains worked even better.
11.5 grains was worse, blew a chuck out of a case.
I am convinced it is the hornets light necks not being able to hold shallow seated bullets.
 Being seated up to the rifling is no worse or better than being .020 to .030 off the rifling.
Pistol primers would not cure the problem, less powder seemed to make it worse?
  But as in "Re: .22 Hornet Load Problem" Seating the bullet deep .230, which in my gun is about .100 off the lands, fixed the  pressure problem. Now I can shoot 13 gr probably more (13 gr shows no sign of pressure -at all.) cases just fall out of the chamber.
 Now if I can get it to group like the long seated loads used to, about .5" I will be happy.
 Hope this isn"t to jumbled to understand but it might save some one some  trouble,
strange things were happening.
For the full story read "Re: .22 Hornet Load Problem" on this form, same thing.

Offline ratdog

• Trade Count: (1)
Re: 22 Hornet (again)
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2011, 11:01:42 PM »
gave my hornet to my son got a 223 they are to problematic to reload. problems solved. ;D

Offline Gaz-52

« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2011, 06:11:35 AM »