Author Topic: 444 Marlin Bullets  (Read 592 times)

Offline bigvarmnt

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (56)
  • N. E. Indiana
444 Marlin Bullets
« on: December 08, 2011, 05:16:41 AM »
I ordered/received some Sierra Sports Master #8630 300gr JSP.

They say FOR HANDGUNS ONLY on the box.

50 PISTOL BULLETS .4295 Dia

Max. Overall Cartridge Length 1.750 in.

Will they not take the increased velocity? Will I have a problem in 444?

Thanks, I'm new to this cartridge.

Offline quickdtoo

• Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (149)
Re: 444 Marlin Bullets
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2011, 05:25:50 AM »
Sierra doesn't list it in their 444 data, they do list it to 1800fps in the 14" 445 Supermag TC data, best advice is call them and ask.

Tim

http://www.sierrabullets.com/index.cfm?section=techservice
"Always do right, this will gratify some and astonish the rest" -  Mark Twain

Offline bigvarmnt

• GBO Supporter
  • N. E. Indiana
« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2011, 05:47:20 AM »
Thanks Tim,
     I don't remember reading any of what was on the box till I got it.

Offline Old Syko

• Trade Count: (1)
« Reply #3 on: December 08, 2011, 05:56:16 AM »
Tried some of these a couple years ago. I've always been a big Sierra bullet fan and probably always will be but this was a poor combination for me. Even ask about them here and got almost no response.  From my 444P accuracy was nonexistent.  I'm talking shotgun pattern at 50 yards.  Still have a couple hundred on the shelf.  I now shoot a 300gr. gas checked cast slug that I drop from a Ranch Dog mold and see no reason to even try anything else for my use.

BTW, Good luck!  Just don't get your hopes up too high.   ;)

Offline bigvarmnt

• GBO Supporter
  • N. E. Indiana
« Reply #4 on: December 08, 2011, 06:37:22 AM »