Author Topic: Changing Of The Guard  (Read 395 times)

Offline ironball

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Avid Poster
Changing Of The Guard
« on: January 14, 2012, 06:33:41 PM »
OK, I guess I might as well just ask, since I'm a newbie here. Just what do you all think is the reason the the old moderators just up and left? I read the posts, but other than one supporting the other's clinging to 1860s technology, I really don't understand what is going on.

I have never been able to understand people who talk in absolutes. Such as "don't do this", "never do that". I take that as from a person who has no clue, other than what they read on the internet.

I have to say, though, that I really like the way the new moderators do not take such a dictatorial approach, but rather give people an opinion. And then add that everyone is still free to do stupid stuff, including blowing them selves up. ;D
Never let the people with all the money and the people with all the guns be the same people.

Offline GGaskill

• Trade Count: (2)
Re: Changing Of The Guard
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2012, 06:51:04 PM »
How about we let this subject rest in peace?  If the former mod's want to elaborate on it, they can.
GG
“If you're not a liberal at 20, you have no heart; if you're not a conservative at 40, you have no brain.”
--Winston Churchill

Offline gunsonwheels

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2012, 07:43:04 PM »
Don't know anything about it but my old boss used to say "you can't quit or move on until you have found and trained your replacement".  Being a moderator is often akin to being a traffic cop... thankless, darn (or the other word), job...

Offline Cannoneer

• GBO Supporter
« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2012, 08:41:39 PM »
How about we let this subject rest in peace?  If the former mod's want to elaborate on it, they can.

I second the motion on this suggestion.