Author Topic: Primer seating issue....... resolution  (Read 447 times)

Offline deerandduck

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (53)
  • Contributor
Primer seating issue....... resolution
« on: February 23, 2012, 08:44:27 AM »
I've been reloading for about 15 years and am still using the original Lee Auto Prime for all my reloading.  This thing has seen thousands(+) of rounds.  Recently, I noticed that my 38 spl were binding in my revolvers and that the primers were not seated as deep.  And I was getting some hammer hits that did not go off the first time (but did on second).

So I guessed that my AutoPrime was getting wore out.  After looking at the "Cam", I noticed wear.  So I supposed I will have to buy a new one......

Wait, I will fix it.   

So I took some Devcon epxoy and added it to the end of the plunger that touches the cam.  I had scorred this surface with my Dremel tool first.  After letting it dry for a day or so, I shaped it similiar to the original concave surface but left about a 1/8" of devcon.  I tested it  and it works.

Now the big question..... how long will it last?  Time will tell.  At least, I saved some money for now.

Deerandduck

Offline necchi

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (40)
Re: Primer seating issue....... resolution
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2012, 11:51:04 AM »
Frugal.
That's,, Uhm,, Frugal,,  ???
found elsewhere

Offline Lost Oki

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Avid Poster
« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2012, 01:50:38 PM »
D&D, did you contact Lee.  My dealings with Lee over the years - excellent customer service.  I have had my lee primer tool since 1972, lots of round thru it.  My metal plunger shows no wear.  Question - are you saving money or just wanted to see if you can get it to work. 

Offline cybin

• Trade Count: (25)
  • Contributor
« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2012, 04:09:38 PM »