Author Topic: My first HMR Mortar Arrived  (Read 614 times)

Offline Scout.308

• Trade Count: (0)
My first HMR Mortar Arrived
« on: March 12, 2012, 12:37:57 PM »
Just got my first GB mortar from Ed at HMR.  It's a beauty and the service was excellent!

I've filled a dozen hollow plastic practice golf balls with mortar, 2.5oz each.  They're cured and ready for the range.  Measured the powder chamber, it's 140grains.  Now I'm just waiting for a nice day!

Any ballpark load suggestions for sending a GB only 100yards or so?
Any suggestions for sharpest salute loads?  (I know, not ideal, but it's what I've got!)
Any suggestions for maximizing smoke and flames for salutes? I'm a photographer, and I wanna play!
  - would a half-cup of flour help?
  - would finer FFFFg or corser Fg powders produce the best S&F show?
  - other ideas?

Thanks, guys.

Offline little seacoast

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (4)
  • A Real Regular
  • Let them get just a little closer...
Re: My first HMR Mortar Arrived
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2012, 06:01:41 AM »
Congratulations on a fine Mortar by an excellent maker.  Regarding powder loads, try starting small. say 30 grains or so of F or 2F. It will take less than you'd think.  Nothing helps smoke and flames shots as much as  low light situations.
America has no native criminal class except Congress.   Sam Clemens

Offline GGaskill

• Trade Count: (2)
« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2012, 09:59:37 AM »
Flour should be OK as an inert "frangible" shot but there is no excess oxygen in the combustion products of black powder and it is unlikely to burn significantly.  It probably will increase the report because its mass will increase the pressure behind it.
GG
“If you're not a liberal at 20, you have no heart; if you're not a conservative at 40, you have no brain.”
--Winston Churchill

Offline dynomike1x1

• Avid Poster
« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2012, 11:41:46 AM »