Author Topic: Advice needed from the experts  (Read 512 times)

Offline tt4617

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Avid Poster
Advice needed from the experts
« on: August 24, 2012, 04:49:56 AM »
All, I am just getting into the AR world and have purchased my first AR, a Sig M400 Enhanced. I am looking for optics for it but don't want to spend a bunch of money until I know what I like on it. Right now, I would like to try a red dot scope that will give me accuracy out to around 100 yards, at least. I want to spend $200 or less. Once I determine if I like that, I may move it to my Mini 14  and then go the EOTECH, AIMPOINT route. Can any of you give me some suggestions from personal experience as to what brand of red dot to try? Thanks for all your help. I appreciate the availability of all you knowledgeable people.

Offline Bugflipper

• Trade Count: (6)
Re: Advice needed from the experts
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2012, 05:19:36 AM »
Not an expert.
This has been a good one. http://www.vortexoptics.com/product/vortex-strikefire-red-dot-scope-for-ar15 I have had it since they came out. Guessing 5 years? It is red or green, of coarse adjusts intensity and has a night vision setting for using with goggles(also dim enough for predation at night). As a bonus it comes with a screw in 2x doubler. It restricts the field of view a little so I leave it off. But at the range or hunting it makes a difference. The reason I like it so well is their no fault warranty. My father knocked an ar off the 2nd floor balcony. It landed squarely on the strikefire hitting a concrete block. The dot wouldn't turn off, but everything else worked and it held zero. For about a year I just unscrewed the battery cap until I remembered to send it in. Attached a note on how and why and they sent a new one. That impact should have broken glass on a scope. So it's a pretty tough little setup.