Author Topic: Woods Gun With Mild Recoil?  (Read 1402 times)

Offline squirrel_hunter6

• Trade Count: (0)
Woods Gun With Mild Recoil?
« on: February 09, 2004, 06:28:00 AM »
I am just a beginner when it comes to deer hunting. I hunted for deer about half a dozen times this past season in North Alabama. (Squirrel hunting is my favorite game animal by far!) My friend has about 40 acres of thick woods that he lets me hunt. There is a lot of underbrush and trees on his land. The maximum range for shooting would be about 75 yards.      

I was borrowing my dad's old 30-30 with open sights for hunting this area. I would like to go out and buy a deer rifle of my own. I need something that can power through brush. I want a gun that has mild recoil. I really don't like to shoot anything that kicks harder than a 30-30. I would also like to be able to take this gun to the shooting range and shoot it a bunch.

As far a scope goes I was thinking about getting something that has low power such as a 1.5x4x32 scope.

Any comments, suggestions, and questions would be appreciated. :D
Squirrels are my game but, Jesus is my LIFE!   8)

Offline PA-Joe

• A Real Regular
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2004, 08:52:05 AM »
Remington Model 7 in 7mm 08! If you reload you can soft load it for the first year to equal a 30-30.

Offline huntsman

• A Real Regular
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2004, 09:25:43 AM »
There are plenty of rifles and calibers to choose from, and several at least that will suit your present hunting needs. But take your time and think on your decision, and don't be hasty.

A deer caliber that can "power through" brush is a misconception. Unless you are shooting artillery rounds (or their close kin) your bullets will be affected by hitting even the smallest of twigs. If you are needing to "thread the needle" through brush, your best bet is a relatively flat-shooting round.