Author Topic: Deer Hunting with Cast Bullets Questions  (Read 2656 times)

Offline jpuke

• Trade Count: (12)
  • Contributor
Deer Hunting with Cast Bullets Questions
« on: July 12, 2012, 05:31:18 AM »
I have been hunting deer for only the last six years, didn't start until I was 30 so I'm not experienced with a large number of cartridges or rifles.  I got my first two deer with a 30-06 but I had a real desire to get one with a bullet that I'd made myself so I picked up a 45/70 (Ruger #1) and proceeded to take three deer with it using the RCBS 45-405-FN bullet cast of near pure lead and paper patched.  The results were terrific:  45 cal entry hole and about a 1.25-1.5" exit on all three deer, only one shot required. 

I went back to the 30-06 for a season but realized how much meat I was losing after comparing the results to the deer harvested with the 45/70 in the previous seasons.  Last year I went back to a 45/70 (Marlin 1895) and shot three deer with it, same paper patched bullet reloads but this time the alloy must not have been right because I got virtually no expansion. However, the results were the same:  three dead deer, three shots, but I didn't like that the bullets didn't expand. 

Here's the actual question: Do those of you that hunt with cast bullets think expansion is necessary for deer?  I want to hunt this year with a plain cast bullet rather than the paper patched because they've gotten to be more work than I have time for.  I'm planning on loading the same RCBS 45-405-FN bullet to 1600-1700 fps with a gas check.

Offline jhalcott

• Trade Count: (1)
Re: Deer Hunting with Cast Bullets Questions
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2012, 06:58:13 AM »