Author Topic: Long eye relief scopes  (Read 587 times)

Offline workinman

• Trade Count: (0)
Long eye relief scopes
« on: December 07, 2012, 03:15:02 PM »
Hi All,

I am a newbie so please bear with me.
I have two Savage 99C, 308, both with scopes. I hunt deer from a seat hung on a tree at ground level. Now I don't know about everyone else, but with 3-4 layers of clothes on I find it very difficult to get a full view thru my scope (Bushnell Banner 3x9) while in a strictly sitting position. Not impossible but it takes a whole lot more effort than I think it should. And as you well know we don't always have time to worry about posture adjustments when ole whitetail is passing thru. I don't seem to notice the issue when shooting from a standing position, it is probably there just less noticeable. I have the scope moved back as far as it will come in the rings. Seems to me there ought to be something better out there.
Any suggestions?
Thanks.

Workinman

Offline FPH

Re: Long eye relief scopes
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2012, 03:17:44 PM »
How does the stock feel to you?  Can it be cut down?

Offline Dave in WV

« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2012, 04:34:29 PM »
How far are you going to shoot and how much are you willing to spend? A dot type sight wuld work no matter what position you're in.
Setting an example is not the main means of influencing others; it is the only means
--Albert Einstein

Offline spruce

« Reply #3 on: December 08, 2012, 02:50:45 AM »
Extension rings would be one option, allowing you to mount the scope further to the rear.  They are made by Weaver (and I believe one or two others).  The downside is they usually (always?) come in medium or high heights which may or may not be a problem for you.