Author Topic: Handgun scope,EER,red dot or Reflex sight ?  (Read 687 times)

Offline bcraig

• Trade Count: (10)
  • Contributor
Handgun scope,EER,red dot or Reflex sight ?
« on: February 17, 2013, 07:56:37 AM »
Hi,I am needing some input on scoping a 1891 Mauser rifle.I will be using a scout type mount .
I will be using the rifle for deer hunting out to 150-200 yards.
I have no experience using a forward mounted scope and need some experience here !
Thanks
Craig

Offline bcraig

• Trade Count: (10)
  • Contributor
Re: Handgun scope,EER,red dot or Reflex sight ?
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2013, 09:27:43 AM »
I like and am used to using Leupold 4x fixed on my other rifles with a convential mounting system.
And I just measured and found that somwhere between 10-1/2 ans 12 inches or so is needed for the eye relief.
Craig

Offline JonnyReb

• Trade Count: (89)
  • Where is John Galt?
« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2013, 04:36:39 PM »
Hi Craig
  I can't answer your question definitively, but can say that I'm mulling over the same question on a slightly different rifle but with similar eye relief. I just can't find any redot type scope that's going to give a clear shot at the 150+\- yardage. Most all are 1x or need a seperate 3x magnifying unit. No matter what, the dot is going to be 6" or more across at that yardage, just no way to shoot accurately at that distance...irons would be more precise.