Author Topic: Colt 1860 Army Accuracy Help!!  (Read 1238 times)

Offline skpp108

• Trade Count: (0)
Colt 1860 Army Accuracy Help!!
« on: February 23, 2004, 05:44:04 AM »
Hi all,
I just fired my new (used) 2nd gen Colt 1860 and am a little dismayed at the results. At about 8 yards, the groups are about 4" high and about 4" to the right. I'm sure at 25 yds, I couldn't hit a 4x8 sheet of plywood. The groups, however are impressive with most of the rounds touching each other. I was using cleanshot pellets (30 gr equivalant) round balls .454, no wad and lube on top. I am fairly new to this and I'm sure I am missing something. Could the wedge have anything to do with my problem? I was messing with it the other day and discoversd that it matters how far you tap it back or the cylinder wont turn. Other than that, no clue. Any suggestions greatly appreciated-

Thanks,
Scott :?
Use it up while its still good-

Offline MOGorilla

• Avid Poster
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2004, 07:13:51 AM »
I would say if the shots are touching one another, it is not a wedge problem, just a site picture problem.  Make sure the blade site it straight, and then I would take a very small file to the notch in the hammer.  The 4" high is nothing, mine shoots 8-10" high at 10 yards, these guns were designed to shoot dead on at 100 yards, so the back sight notch needs to be deepened, and I would say yours needs to be directed to the left.

Offline Flint

« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2004, 09:23:43 AM »