Author Topic: Navy Arms 1858 Remington replica  (Read 2621 times)

Offline Whizzz

• Trade Count: (0)
Navy Arms 1858 Remington replica
« on: February 15, 2004, 10:56:27 PM »
I am new to cap and ball revolvers and am considering acquiring a New Model Army Remington 1858 replica made by Navy Arms. I have not come across any reference to Navy Arms in the posts on the forum...there are mainly references to Pietta, Uberti etc. Does anyone have any idea about the quality in comparison to the Pieta or Uberti replica's. Would the Navy Arms replica be able to accommodate a Kirst Converter or any other converter?

Offline Cuts Crooked

« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2004, 12:20:22 AM »
Navy Arms is an importer. Their 58 will either be made by Uberti or Pietta. Either one will be a very good gun and they can both be fitted with Kirst cylinders. (both Kirst and R&D make conversion cylinders for both brands)
Smokeless is only a passing fad!

"The liar who charms and disarms and wreaths himself in artifice is too agreeable to be called a demon. So we adopt the word "candidate"." Brooke McEldowney

"When a dog has bitten ten kids I have trouble believing he would make a good childs companion just because he now claims he is a good dog and doesn't bite. How's that for a "parable"?"....ME

Offline Good time Charlie

• Avid Poster
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2004, 12:27:14 AM »
Either can be fitted with a converter cylinder if it is a steel frame. No brass frames!
                                    Charlie

Offline Whizzz

« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2004, 02:44:45 AM »
Thanks for the info greatly appreciate it. Cuts Crooked do know if there would be any distinguishing marks on the gun to tell me if it is Uberti or Pietta?

It is a really great looking mint condition steel frame 1858. It does not have the original walnut stocks though, rather badly made local (African)wood stocks. I assume it would be possible to order walnut stocks directly from Uberti or Pietta?

Offline Cuts Crooked