Author Topic: Shoulder set too far back HELP!  (Read 717 times)

Offline Ol BW

• Trade Count: (24)
  • A Real Regular
Shoulder set too far back HELP!
« on: April 22, 2013, 04:24:47 PM »
I am still rather new to reloading, so here it goes. . .

I have some Winchester 7.62x39 brass that I was overzealous while resizing.  (This was the first brass I ever resized!)  Most will not fire.  Since then I have went to Remington brass with no problems. 

Is there any way to salvage this brass?  I have most of it either primed or loaded.

Do I need to pull the bullets or is there a way I can shoot them that I am not familiar with?

The primers have light strikes, do I need to deprime the cases?  If so, how? (Do you think I could blow them out with compressed air and a fitting that fits tight in the case mouth under a heavy cloth to "catch" the primer?)

It is possible that there is another explanation as to why I am having a problem loading this brass.  Anyone have any other suggestions?

Any suggestions, comments or snide remarks are welcome. ::)

BW

Offline tacklebury

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (12)
  • Central Michigan
Re: Shoulder set too far back HELP!
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2013, 04:53:54 PM »
If you are using CCI primers, they are slightly tougher than some others.  Might try some large pistol primers also with light unique loads and some .311 round balls thumbed into the ends to flare the cases back into chamber shape.  Pistol primers are softer also, just don't push really hard on your primer seater and they should be flush with the case head.  You can also load cases up with cream of wheat and a small charge of unique and then just shove some wadding into the end.  Usually that will reform your shoulder also.  Why not plink though and have some fun at least with round balls.  ;)  Single 0 buckshot is also around the right size to do this with for the 7.62x39.  ;)

***edit***
oh and probably start at 6 gr. unique 8)