Author Topic: POI Change with bullet weight  (Read 2011 times)

Offline RonO777

• Trade Count: (12)
  • Avid Poster
    • Mr44Mag
POI Change with bullet weight
« on: February 24, 2004, 04:45:30 PM »
I was shooting this weekend and I changed bullet weight on my 243 from 100grain to 55grain. The POI moved but not in the direction I would have thought. It moved about 2inches to the left. But still printed a three shot group that was touching each other. A few clicks an it was back on target.
On my 223 I went from 55sp's to 45jhp's and the poi was about a inch to the left also. Is this normal? I though the point of impact would move up or down. Not right or left.

Ron

Offline handirifle

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (3)
    • http://www.handirifle.com
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2004, 07:21:07 PM »
I'm not an expert on this at all but my guess if the change in barrel vibration timing was influenced by something making the barrel move from left to right.  Do your groups have their widest measurment from left to right or top to bottom?
God, Family, and guns, in that order!

Offline RonO777

• Avid Poster
    • Mr44Mag
« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2004, 02:06:21 AM »
The 243 was putting the bullets in a vertical lineall rounds touching. I couldnt tell ya in which order they hit. But before with the 100 grains the best it would do would be 1 1/2 inch groups at 100 yards.
The 223 I dont remember off the top of my head. Ill have to get the target to check that out.

Ron

Offline jrcanoe

• Trade Count: (0)
« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2004, 07:25:29 AM »