Author Topic: sn42bi58 What is this stuff?  (Read 750 times)

Offline flintski

• Trade Count: (0)
sn42bi58 What is this stuff?
« on: February 18, 2004, 02:35:00 PM »
:D I was at the local hardware store this morning and found some lead looking stuff  that was stamped SN42-BI58 with a little research it came out 42% tin and 58% BISMUTH.    would this stuff be worth buying at  25 cent a pound?  Is there a use in casting that can be useful? Bismuth in shot shells is heavy and hard.  You smart guys clue me in... :lol:
Don't shoot ugly guns/////

Offline Graybeard

• Administrator
  • Trade Count: (69)
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2004, 07:15:07 PM »
I don't think I'd try making bullets from it. Sinkers for fishing maybe. The tin is a useful ingredient but mixed with bismuth? Well I dunno about that.

GB

Bill aka the Graybeard
President, Graybeard Outdoor Enterprises
256-435-1125

I am not a lawyer and do not give legal advice.

Jesus is the way, the truth, and the life anyone who believes in Him will have everlasting life!

Offline Lead pot

• A Real Regular
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2004, 04:31:19 AM »
That stuff is a low temp solder.It has a melting point of 500 degs.

Kurt.
Dont go were the path leads,go were there is no path and leave a trail.

Offline Joe Kool

• Avid Poster
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2004, 02:05:56 PM »
I would try mixing a half a pound of this alloy to 10 pounds of wheel weights, cast some bullets, and see how they work. If they are too soft, just water drop them out of the mold.  8)

Offline Will Bison

• A Real Regular
« Reply #4 on: March 05, 2004, 07:24:38 AM »
You got me interested. Mixed with lead who knows. At the price, try some and let us know.

Offline cukrus

« Reply #5 on: March 09, 2004, 08:04:27 AM »