Author Topic: Cast bullet ?s  (Read 640 times)

Offline farmerboyMT

• Trade Count: (0)
Cast bullet ?s
« on: March 18, 2004, 11:22:41 AM »
I'm new to cast bullet shooting so I need to ask a few questions.

1. What is the general opinion of Oregon Trail bullets?  I think I'm going to try their 165gr rnfp.
2. I'm currently loading 150grn Hornady Interloc RN on top of 27.5 gr IMR 4198 for a Winchester 1894 30-30.  I'd like to continue to use 4198 any thoughts on this.
3.  I'm getting roughly 2200 fps with my current load what can I expect with cast bullets? Will there be any difference?

If anybody has any thought please feel free.
Thank you
Bryan Danley

Offline Chargar

Cast bullets
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2004, 04:44:36 PM »
Let me take a stab at your questions. First of all I have never shot any Orgeon Trail bullets, so don't have an informed opinion. I have shot very few "store bought" cast bullets in my life time. I have never had acceptable results with any of them, and I always go back to my own products.

If you have a load that works for you in the 30-30 go ahead and give it a try. It won't hurt and may be a good load. 4198 is a good cast bullet powder in the 30-30. I prefer 3031 or 4895.

In terms of results I really can't say about your load and your rifle, but in general cast bullets in the 30-30 can be fired at the same velocity as jacketed and accuracy will be equal or better.

Don't forget to remove all metal fouling from your barrel before shooting cast bullet. This will require Sweets 7.62 or similiar solvent that will get the metal fouling out. skip this step and your cast bullet shooting is destined to failure and disappointment.

Offline Doctor Sam

• Avid Poster
cast bullets
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2004, 01:58:12 PM »
Lyman's 311291 gas checked 170 grain RN with 28 - 30 grains of 3031 works well for me in the 30-30.  Makes a heck of a turtle gun!
Doctor Sam
Dr. Sam

Offline haroldclark

• Trade Count: (13)
  • Contributor
Oregon Trail Bullets