Author Topic: fast bullet effect  (Read 619 times)

Offline missed_shot

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Avid Poster
fast bullet effect
« on: February 20, 2004, 05:27:16 AM »
I have a 300 weatherby mag that shoots 180 gr hornady sp to perfection. I I was was wondering what would happen if i shot a deer with this bullet at 3000 fps. at less than 100 yds ?? :eek:
DONUTS - IS THERE ANYTHING THEY CAN'T DO ??- HOMER SIMPSON

Online Graybeard

• Administrator
  • Trade Count: (69)
fast bullet effect
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2004, 06:43:52 AM »
Assuming proper bullet placement I'd say the result will be one dead deer. The Hornady bullet is an excellent one but isn't a premium. Personally I don't think any standard cup jacketed bullet is appropriate in the large magnums like yours. I'd use Nosler PTs or some other such premium were I using it and anticipating the potential for close shots.

GB

Bill aka the Graybeard
President, Graybeard Outdoor Enterprises
256-435-1125

I am not a lawyer and do not give legal advice.

Jesus is the way, the truth, and the life anyone who believes in Him will have everlasting life!

Offline missed_shot

• Avid Poster
fast bullet effect
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2004, 07:18:05 AM »
Whitebeard --Would I get alot of bloodshot meat using 180 gr. hornady sp ?  I also have some of the new triple shock hornady bullets. Do you think they would work better ? I want bullet expansion and not a .30 hole in the deer. thanks
DONUTS - IS THERE ANYTHING THEY CAN'T DO ??- HOMER SIMPSON

Offline eroyd

• Contributor
fast bullet effect
« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2004, 01:57:19 PM »
I shot the less expensive weatherby ammo with the 180 hornady bullets. At game including moose the bullet made quite a mess within 100 yards.  Beyond 100 they worked great. I think the Nosler 200 partition is the best bullet for that cartridge. I also like the 165 gr. Barnes XBT.

Online Graybeard

• Administrator
  • Trade Count: (69)
fast bullet effect