Author Topic: 223 walking  (Read 799 times)

Offline bluebayou

• Trade Count: (0)
223 walking
« on: July 10, 2004, 02:31:08 PM »
Okay, it was a pretty hot day.  More than 90 degrees.  I shot the 44 barrel with no problems at 50-100 yards.  I started shooting the 223 barrel and the mirage was so bad that I figured that it was a lost cause even at 4x.  So I just shot 3-five shot groups trying to work on my trigger pull.  I will go back on a cooler day to go for group size.

The problem is that since refinishing the stocks the forearm hole and the barrel bolt lug don't quite line up.  Now, the 44 barrel was fitted AFTER I refinished the forearm and the forearm just slips on.  The 223 barrel has to be smacked around to get it on and is a bear to get off.  Previously the barrel shot normal looking groups (1" or so in diameter).  Is the group (and the others like it) walking down due to the barrel heating up and pushing the lug?

If I let out some wood would that mess up the groups on the other barrels?  Am I off track?  The group walked down toward the bullseye.  The shots were all quick ones maybe 10-15 seconds apart.

I tried to post a picture of the forearm and the target but it didn't work.  Basically, the barrel lug is pushed into the wood in the forearm hole.  There is a gap of 1/8" or so in the forearm hole looking toward the muzzle.  The 44 barrel lug is centered.

Offline quickdtoo

• Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (149)
223 walking
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2004, 02:43:48 PM »
One option that a lot of NEF shooters have used is an "O" ring 9/16"ODx3/8"IDx3/32" thick, placed on the barrel stud to semi float the forearm. It works on some, others it doesn't. Mine shoots better on all three of my barrel without the "O" ring, but it might be worth a try. Ice, from RFC, used a grommet 7/16"ODx3/16"IDx3/16" thick on his sportster with good results. You might try one of these options to see if it helps the problems, both with the loose and tight forearms.   hth,   Tim