Author Topic: new user here..need info on 45-70 reloads  (Read 887 times)

Offline longhorn1

• Trade Count: (0)
new user here..need info on 45-70 reloads
« on: August 09, 2004, 04:43:05 PM »
just bought a newenglander 45-70..need info on what kind of powder..what size primers..an how many gr's of powder for a 300gr hollow point..any help would sure be appricated...want to reload my own rounds.

Offline quickdtoo

• Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (149)
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2004, 05:20:46 PM »
Hi Longhorn1, welcome to Graybeard Outdoors!  :D I'm new to the .45-70 myself, in fact I don't even have mine back from H&R yet! But I got all the stuff I need to start reloading except the rifle, am a new handloader but an old shooter! :wink:  You'll find lots of loads posted here if you look through the last few weeks of posts on the .45-70 and I'm sure someone will share their pet load with ya as they have with me. Have fun and play safe!  :grin:
"Always do right, this will gratify some and astonish the rest" -  Mark Twain

Offline longhorn1

45-70
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2004, 05:26:50 PM »
Quote from: quickdtoo
Hi Longhorn1, welcome to Graybeard Outdoors!  :D I'm new to the .45-70 myself, in fact I don't even have mine back from H&R yet! But I got all the stuff I need to start reloading except the rifle, am a new handloader but an old shooter! :wink:  You'll find lots of loads posted here if you look through the last few weeks of posts on the .45-70 and I'm sure someone will share their pet load with ya as they have with me
. Have fun and play safe!  :grin:

thanks glide i found this sight..thanks for the info..also glide to meet u.

Offline JBKERNS

Loads
« Reply #3 on: August 10, 2004, 01:28:55 AM »
Searches on Google and this board's search feature will give you more loads than you can process. I used this question about a month ago.  I still am overwhelmed.

I got the 45-70 last month.  The following is currently producing one holers:

Win Brass
Win LR Primer