Author Topic: gas check maker  (Read 803 times)

Offline harpman

• Trade Count: (0)
    • Reloading Log Books
gas check maker
« on: March 02, 2005, 03:29:17 PM »
whats the lowest price one  ?.....any one use one of these ?
The Black Powder Cartridge Reloading Log Book

Online Graybeard

• Administrator
  • Trade Count: (69)
gas check maker
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2005, 03:44:39 PM »
Gas checks, low price?  :)  :-D  :)  :-D  :)  :-D  :)  You've got to be kidding. They used to be but unless you can find an individual offering some cheap there is no such thing anymore.

I think Hornady is somewhat cheaper than Lyman but not by enough to really tell it in the wallet. I always buy mine at Midsouth Shooters Supply an advertiser here at GBO. Have been buying from them over 20 years.

Bill aka the Graybeard
President, Graybeard Outdoor Enterprises
256-435-1125

I am not a lawyer and do not give legal advice.

Jesus is the way, the truth, and the life anyone who believes in Him will have everlasting life!

Offline jhalcott

• Trade Count: (1)
gas check maker
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2005, 04:12:37 PM »
are you talking about making your own?? There used to be one around that made checks from old soda cans. I haven't seen one of these in years. Might be worth while now a days. It was called FREE_CHEK,I think.

Offline buck1

gas check maker
« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2005, 04:30:27 PM »
Pacos free check tool is no longer sold.
The only gas check makers I can find require a LARGE investment of $$ for tons of equipment. ....buck

Offline talon

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (4)
  • A Real Regular
gas check maker
« Reply #4 on: March 02, 2005, 04:41:18 PM »
Corbin Company has one for $300 or so. Uses copper strip .03" thick. They would build it in any caliber from .17 to .510 I think.  Believe it would only be worthwhile if you needed a non-standard diameter check.  8)

Offline Handgunr

gas check maker
« Reply #5 on: March 21, 2005, 03:15:53 AM »
Just a tip.....