Author Topic: Why use a Slug Gun?  (Read 904 times)

Offline Dirty Tiger

• Trade Count: (10)
  • Avid Poster
Why use a Slug Gun?
« on: February 22, 2005, 02:20:12 PM »
I am a newbie gun owner and soon to be hunter and I have a question about the main application/theory behind using a Rifled Slug Gun as opposed to a conventional Hunting Rifle.

Thanx.

Offline savageT

• Trade Count: (0)
Why use a Slug Gun?
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2005, 02:58:52 PM »
Dirty Tiger,
I hope I haven't misunderstood your question about slug guns but here in New York State, as well as many others across the U.S. there are zones where it is ruled illegal to use center-fire rifles for deer hunting.  The reason?  Simply it is because of civilization encrouching into woodlands/farmlands, and it just isn't safe!  Therefore, an answer was to allow shotguns (originally smooth-bore barrels) in these zones used with slugs because of their shorter-range.
The problem today is that modern technology has produced rifled barreled shotguns and muzzle-loaders with dramatically better accuracy and range than we had just a few years ago.  Changes in the rules will be coming!
Hope I answered your question.

Jim
savageT........Have you hugged a '99 lately?

Of all the things I've lost in my life, I miss my mind the most.

Offline Markus

• Moderators
  • Trade Count: (15)
Why use a Slug Gun?
« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2005, 01:34:15 AM »