Author Topic: Remington1858 maintenance, parts  (Read 1124 times)

Offline Cement Man

• Trade Count: (4)
Remington1858 maintenance, parts
« on: February 13, 2005, 05:13:51 AM »
I am new to cap and ball revolver shooting.  I bought a stainless '58 from Cabelas (Pietta) a couple of years ago, a spare cylinder, a device/loading tool to load the cylinder(s), a couple of boxes of .451 balls, spare nipples, and some wonder wads. I plan on starting with Black Mag 3 for powder.  I don't think I have any manual for this revolver, but am confident that I can load and shoot it safely and properly.  After reading a lot of posts here, I realize that this revolver will require a thorough cleaning after each use, and I will have to be able to disassemble it and will likely have to replace a spring or other parts someday.  I teeter about just selling the caboodle and starting with a Ruger, which I presume will have a good manual for cleaning and maintenance, and I will likely not have to do much parts replacement on.  Is there any good reference book which will help a newbie clean and maintain/repair his '58?  Also, if I do need to replace a part such as a spring, where would I obtain these parts?  I looked at Pietta's website and I didn't see where you could get that type of support.  Your advice would be much appreciated.  Thanks!
CIVES ARMA FERANT - Let the citizens bear arms.
POLITICIANS SHOULD BE LIMITED TO TWO TERMS - ONE IN OFFICE AND ONE IN PRISON.... Illinois already does this.

Offline filmokentucky

• Trade Count: (0)
  • A Real Regular
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2005, 07:00:04 AM »