Author Topic: WSSM .243 Cart.  (Read 480 times)

Offline Cookiemann

• Trade Count: (9)
  • Apple Valley, MN
WSSM .243 Cart.
« on: March 26, 2005, 12:04:49 PM »
This may sound dumb to some, but I am new to centerfire rifles.  Can you shoot a WSSM 243 in the 243 Handi?  How does it compare to the standard length 243?  Facts, opinions and experiences are all welcome.
NOT ON MY WATCH

"AIM small...MISS small"

Offline Wild Bill 442

• Trade Count: (0)
Cartridge
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2005, 12:41:15 PM »
Not a dumb question, in fact a very important one.  No, you cannot fire a 243 WSSM in an "243 Handi-Rifle".  The 243 Handi's are chambered for 243 Winchester or as its sometimes referred to, the 243 WCF.  While there may come a day when Handi's are chambered for the WSSM's, its a long way off since their (the WSSM Family of cartridges) pressure specs are well above the Handi  design capability.

The single most important aspect of centerfire rifles beyond basic gun safety is to have complete and specific knowledge of your rifles chambering and the ammunition if is intended to fire.  And it sounds like you get it since you asked the question.

Each rifle is chambered for a specific cartridge design.  Certain cartridge designs are called by several names, adding to the confusion.  Sharing a nominal bore diameter as do the 243 WSSM and the 243 WCF, is no indication of interchangeability.