Author Topic: 1st shooting impressions of 45-70  (Read 1026 times)

Offline Markus

• Moderators
  • GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (15)
1st shooting impressions of 45-70
« on: June 18, 2005, 08:36:05 AM »
I finally got to put 3 rounds through my 22"45-70 barrel the other day. I only had time for 3 rounds off hand at 50 yards. I was shooting PMC 405gr at 1250fps (according to the box).The recoil was not bad at all.All 3 shots hit the hit the 44oz plastic cup with iron sights. I'm new to this calibre and was expecting much more recoil. Can't wait to shoot it more and start reloading for it.
PROUD REDNECK CONSERVATIVE

I'd much rather be remembered for being a great shot than having the most expensive gun

Offline jason280

• Trade Count: (7)
  • A Real Regular
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2005, 09:49:25 AM »
I'm new to this calibre and was expecting much more recoil

Most all of the Springfield loads have very little recoil, and the PMC load is no exception.  I would compare it to heavy field loads out of a 12ga, but its definitely not as bad as buckshot.  Now, if you go ahead and get a load with that same 405gr bulllet at around 18-1900fps, then you'll have all the recoil you could want.
"Hey Peter, check out Channel 9!!"

Offline shaner

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (66)
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2005, 11:18:54 AM »
if yur just lookin for target loads , look up cowboy loadings in most powder manuals now adays , they usually have a few light target loads to play with ,

Offline Markus

• Moderators
  • GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (15)
« Reply #3 on: June 19, 2005, 04:57:57 PM »
The recoild seemed a lot less than any of the 12ga loads I shoot and a heck of a lot less than my trackerII.
PROUD REDNECK CONSERVATIVE

I'd much rather be remembered for being a great shot than having the most expensive gun

Offline Badnews Bob

• Trade Count: (34)
« Reply #4 on: June 20, 2005, 02:37:18 AM »