Author Topic: School vs Hunting  (Read 1487 times)

Offline Castaway

• Trade Count: (0)
School vs Hunting
« on: September 09, 2005, 02:16:09 AM »
Not exactly where to post this, but I' doing some informal research.  Are there any school districts that you personally know of that close school for opening day of any species?  I heard that some Pennsylvania counties did as little as 10 years ago.  My dad told me last night that in some eastern Kentucky counties, school was closed the first day of squirrel season.

Why am I asking?  I'm a teacher in a Florida middle school and was called into the office yesterday and told a parent had complained about me talking about hunting.  Seems her daughter is so upset she now will not eat meat.  Now, I can't talk about hunting any more.  One kid/mom in thousands of kids ruined it for those that enjoy our sport.

Offline PEPAW

• Contributor
School vs Hunting
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2005, 03:25:54 AM »
Along the same lines, we mentioned to our teacher that our 6 year old loved to hunt and would be telling everyone that she was going to kill  a deer soon.  As luck would have it, her teacher is an avid hunter and understood.     Her teach in PRE - K was even more avid.    Sounds like I live in the right area to raise a hunter. (cypress, texas on the outskirts of Houston)

pepaw

Offline RCL

• Avid Poster
School vs Hunting
« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2005, 03:49:13 AM »
The hypocrisy of the sheeple never ceases to amaze me.  :roll:

Do a class on slaughterhouses. Maybe that will be more to her liking. :D
Robert Leggett
"You sure you know how to skin grizz pilgrim?"

Offline Savage .250

School vs Hunting
« Reply #3 on: September 09, 2005, 04:11:01 AM »
Maybe her "parent" needs to show her (in graphic detail) how they kill cows. OOPS, slaughter.  Have to be politically correct.
    She surly would be a ...veg-e-tear-re-un after that.

" The best part of the hunt is not the harvest but in the experience."