Author Topic: Stress Calculator  (Read 1389 times)

Offline GGaskill

• Trade Count: (2)
Stress Calculator
« on: October 21, 2005, 09:21:59 AM »
Since my day job is computer programmer and I wanted to practice writing a dynamic javascript web page, I have created a web page that calculates stress in thin wall and thick wall cylinders using the standard equations for that.  Feel free to use it to check your designs or projects. 

Keep in mind that stress from chamber pressure is just one thing that must be considered in barrel design.  Elimination of stress risers, for example, must also be considered.  Since we don't have good chamber pressure values, I use the 20,000 psi that was published by Matt Switlik in his cannon pressure tests of the 1980's.  Keep in mind that pressure can be increased by unsafe loading practices such as too much powder, wrong granulation of powder, and too heavy a shot load.  Also, be sure to understand the caveat at the bottom of the Calculator page.
GG
“If you're not a liberal at 20, you have no heart; if you're not a conservative at 40, you have no brain.”
--Winston Churchill

Offline kappullen

• Avid Poster
Stress Calculator
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2005, 09:45:56 AM »
George,

I use the number of Bloody Marys it takes to put up with the inlaws as a stress calculator! :)   :-D   :)

Thanks, that could be useful!

Kap

Offline Dictator

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Avid Poster
Stress Calculator
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2005, 11:05:25 AM »
this is a kinda cool item George. Thanks much......Kap, the holidays are coming & so are the inlaws :gulp:

Offline Cat Whisperer

• Pulaski Coehorn Works
Stress Calculator
« Reply #3 on: October 22, 2005, 02:44:57 AM »
Quote from: kappullen
George,

I use the number of Bloody Marys it takes to put up with the inlaws as a stress calculator! :)   :-D   :)

Thanks, that could be useful!

Kap