Author Topic: 45-70 BC day at the range.  (Read 324 times)

Offline gstanfield

• Trade Count: (0)
45-70 BC day at the range.
« on: November 12, 2005, 03:19:13 PM »
Attention: All loads were safe in my gun, showed no signs of excessive pressure, but as always, use caution when using someone elses's load data![/size]

Alrighty, I just got back from the range with my final testing for the 45-70 BC. It's a shame really as I am just beginning to find the sweet loads for this gun. There were several loads tested, but only three that really showed any promise. Here are the targets from today's very cold windy testing session. All shots are at 50yds from the bench.

This target was shot with 59gr of IMR4064, CCI large rifle primers and Hornady 300gr bullets. The group size for the best three shots comes out to 1.210"

This picture shows the second group shot which was made of the same bullet, primer and brass, but with 32.0grs of IMR4227 powder. The wind was blowing really hard when I shot these, so I think there is much more potnetial for this powder with this round. The best three out of this group measure .920" and I think it is very signifigant that the group is open horizontal instead of the usualy verticle. This to me indicates that with less wind this group might have been tiny indeed.