Author Topic: question on 9mm seating depth  (Read 1540 times)

Offline Black Jaque Janaviac

• Trade Count: (0)
question on 9mm seating depth
« on: March 09, 2003, 05:23:25 AM »
I'm new to reloading for auto pistol cases.  The bullets don't have the crimping cannelure to determine seating depth.  How do you determine the appropriate depth?

I'm using bullets from one of Lee's tumble lube molds for 9mm.  They're the bullets with the multiple lube grooves.

The bullet is a 124 grain Truncated Cone.  

When I seat the bullet to cover all the lube grooves the OAL is only 1.053".  Is this too deep?  Powder charge is 5.0 grains Unique.

If I seat the bullet to the listed Min OAL (1.150") for 124 grain lead bullets two of the lube grooves are exposed.  I've always thought that normal bullet designs are to have the grooves inside the case.  

Also, with that Lee Factory Taper Crimp die - How can you tell if it's doing anything?  I don't see any visible difference although I could feel it doing something when I pushed it into the die.
Black Jaque Janaviac - Dat's who!

Hawken - the gun that made the west wild!

Offline KN

« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2003, 11:14:54 AM »
I'm not familiar with that bullet but as to your crimp, It sounds like your crimp is ok. You will feel it more than see it. Just be sure that all the flare is gone and the case is flush to the bullet.  KN

Offline Mikey

• GBO Supporter
  • Moderators
  • Trade Count: (2)
9mm Seating depth
« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2003, 05:02:06 AM »