Author Topic: OK, I'm Hooked, but I need some help....  (Read 940 times)

Offline flyfisher

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Avid Poster
OK, I'm Hooked, but I need some help....
« on: January 17, 2006, 11:18:14 AM »
I've been lurking in the shadows here in the mortar and cannon forum for too long......I'm Hooked!!

I've been thinking about building a golf ball mortar for the longest time, and I feel that I am ready to begin.  Being a chemistry teacher, I've always been interested in any type of exothermic reaction.  The logical thing seems to continue this interest with the development of a mortar.

Here's my situation:  I have found a retired piece of solid steel shaft from one of my dad's manure spreaders.  The shaft is about 6 1/2 to 7' long and about 2 1/2" in diameter.  I think that it would make a great mortar.  I have no idea what kind of steel it is made out of, but I know that it will be strong enough for a golf ball mortar.  I have a friend who owns a machine shop and am going to have him put the bore and touch hole in the shaft for me, but I have some questions first:

1)  What would the ideal length for this mortar be?
2)  What would the ideal bore size for a standard golf ball be?
3)  What would a good starting load be for such a mortar?

Any input that you guys can give me would be greatly appreciated.  Thanks for all of the posts and pictures that are easy to get to here on Graybeard.

Thanks,
flyfisher a.k.a. Ryan
How'd you like a peek at my 14-incher? (Contender, that is)

Offline Cat Whisperer

• Trade Count: (2)
  • Pulaski Coehorn Works
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2006, 12:32:36 PM »
flyfisher -

If it's an axel shaft it may be hardened.  It is good steel, but IF hardened it will be tough to machine.  It can be annealed.

Bore length - I'd go for 2 to 3 calibers long (inside of bore 2x or 3x inside diameter of bore.  1 caliber long will give you max range of about 8-10feet.  2 calibers will go 100-200 yards.  3 calibers into who-knows-where.