Author Topic: Hunt prices!!!  (Read 597 times)

Offline slide-flipper

• Trade Count: (0)
Hunt prices!!!
« on: February 12, 2006, 04:42:31 PM »
I was just looking at Jim Shockey's website for his Yukon operation.  I was absolutely blown away!  Maybe I'm just naive, but I can't see paying in excess of $16,000 for a moose hunt.  I could buy a whole HERD of grain fed beef for that AND a couple of freezers just for the steaks!  It's cheaper to go to Africa for a multi-species plains game hunt...  I guess it really is getting to be where hunting will only be for the rich even in North America...

slide-flipper

Offline DakotaElkSlayer

• A Real Regular
Hunt prices!!!
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2006, 05:50:57 PM »
It is amazing how some people can throw away money like that, isn't it.  A guy I graduated from high school with has a "game farm."  He has the rich folks pay him big $$$$ to shoot a bull elk in a 20acre enclosure that has a single tree in it.

Jim
He who joyfully marches in rank and file has already earned my contempt. He has been given a large brain by mistake, since for him the spinal cord would suffice.

- Albert Einstein

Offline grde

Hunt prices!!!
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2006, 02:43:43 AM »
It is not amazing; it is disgusting.  

I grew up hunting on small farms and timber company land in West Virginia.  I think I was 15 or 16 before I ever even had an opportunity to take a shot at buck.  This however, was a learning experience.  It taught me the most valuable skill that one can have--patience.

These guys pay $10,000 and up to pull the trigger.  They have to do little or no scouting, and at a great number of these outfits there is little or no walking involved.  Someone drives them up to a box stand in the morning and picks them up in the evening.  

The most incredible thing is that this type of "hunting" is primarily what is shown on the outdoor shows.  And people wonder why hunters get such a bad name.