Author Topic: Speak Spanish?  (Read 851 times)

Offline rockbilly

• Trade Count: (0)
Speak Spanish?
« on: March 14, 2006, 11:40:11 AM »
:roll: A friend sent this to me.  After reading it, I think this is one of the best arguments for one language in the USA.  When you think of all the other cultures that have successfully assimilated into the American way of life it makes you wonder who is pushing for adapting Spanish as a second language, and who is pushing to force school systems to adapt a program to teach in Spanish.  The letter a "letter to the editor" McAllen, Tx newspaper.

LETTERS
March 10,2006
The Monitor

Wake up Rio Grande Valley

To the editor:

"Bilingual Education in Question," a headline in The Monitor on Feb. 10, requires some comment because I have been there.

Again, the fact that I have been a resident of the Valley for 21 years, property owner, taxpayer. As I write this, I am three months and 23 days in the year of my life, which means I am a 90-year "know it all."

I grew up in a community of New York Mills, Minn., which was 80 percent Finnish when I started first grade in 1923. What would have happened if the Finns would have insisted that their language be also used in the schools besides English? Or the Dutch settlers to the north, or the German and Polish to the west, where they lived in such numbers that they constructed beautiful and large churches? What if the Norwegians to the south would have insisted that their language also be used in the school systems?

What if all of the ethnic groups who settled in the United States had insisted that it was necessary their language be preserved by having it used in their local school systems?