Author Topic: Old Weaver value  (Read 657 times)

Offline Hairtrigger

• Trade Count: (10)
Old Weaver value
« on: March 18, 2006, 06:33:16 AM »
I am looking at a used rifle with a Weaver V4.5 scope.
The scope adjusts from 1.5X to 4.5
The scope has a very fine crosshair with a dot in the center.
How much would you add to the rifle price for this scope?

Offline Graybeard

• Administrator
  • Trade Count: (69)
Old Weaver value
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2006, 05:38:26 PM »
Nothing.

Bill aka the Graybeard
President, Graybeard Outdoor Enterprises
256-435-1125

I am not a lawyer and do not give legal advice.

Jesus is the way, the truth, and the life anyone who believes in Him will have everlasting life!

Offline doorgunner

• Trade Count: (0)
Old Weaver value
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2006, 12:57:20 PM »
The old El Paso Weavers were top shelf scopes in their day, however they no longer exist, and optical performance has come a long way since they were manufactured.  If you are indeed talking about one of the older Weavers, then Bill is totally correct....The scope will add no appreciable value to the firearm.
"Walk Softly, and Carry a Large Caliber Bolt Gun!"

Offline Hairtrigger

• Trade Count: (10)
Old Weaver value
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2006, 01:16:53 PM »
I ended up buying the rifle but the scope belongs on something like a Winchester 54

Offline rickt300

• Trade Count: (13)
Old Weaver value
« Reply #4 on: April 06, 2006, 06:18:58 AM »
The old Weavers were and are very rugged scopes with "adequate" optics. The crosshair style is a problem though.
I have been identified as Anti-Federalist, I prefer Advocate for Anarchy.

Offline Siskiyou

Old Weaver value
« Reply #5 on: April 06, 2006, 07:28:03 AM »