Author Topic: Neck shooting revisited  (Read 2334 times)

Offline Graybeard

• Administrator
  • Trade Count: (69)
Neck shooting revisited
« on: November 26, 2002, 11:49:15 PM »
I have almost zero experience with neck shots as I've never intentionally taken one. I always aim for the lungs/heart area if it is available to me from the angle I have to shoot. I know lots of folks like the neck shot and swear by it but there really is a small target there well hidden and if you don't know your deer anatomy pretty well and place the bullet precisely you can fail to damage the spine. Yeah the shock might put it down but will it kill it? If you miss low you might take out the esophogus and that's a fatal shot but not for days.

I aim for the shoulder or just behind it myself.

GB

Bill aka the Graybeard
President, Graybeard Outdoor Enterprises
256-435-1125

I am not a lawyer and do not give legal advice.

Jesus is the way, the truth, and the life anyone who believes in Him will have everlasting life!

Offline Grinder

• Trade Count: (0)
Neck shooting revisited
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2002, 12:37:37 AM »
Every deer I've ever shot in the neck has went down like a rock and stayed there.

If I'm close enough and can get an open shot, I'll usually shoot does in the head.  The neck shot is an extremely lethal shot, if you know where you're shooting.  I like between the shoulder blades as well.
NRA Life Member

Offline jeff f

Neck shooting revisited
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2002, 07:58:17 PM »
i have shot between 30-35 whitetails with neck shots.  weapons ranged from 22 rimfire short to 300 weatherby and includes a 44 cap and ball 1858 remington revolver.  i have yet to see one move a single inch.  i believe the negative experience you guys had was purely nerves.  the deer was dead but "twitching".  very rare for them to even do that.  you hit in the neck, they go down, period.
jeff

Offline Frog123

• Contributor
Neck shooting revisited