Author Topic: Rating the Keltec  (Read 1148 times)

Offline S.S.

• Trade Count: (0)
Rating the Keltec
« on: April 27, 2006, 03:46:47 AM »
I am considering Buying one of the Keltec 9mm's for my wife.
I have no real experience with these handguns but I really like their size and feel. My wife currently carries a S&W model 30-1 in .32 S&W long that I am having a hard time making her part with. She does shoot it well, but It needs a bit more horsepower in my opinion. She loves my Glock 19 but needs a little smaller grip. What I am looking for from you folks is a no BS assessment of the Keltecs. Good Points, Bad points, Accuracy, Durability etc... Would you feel comfortable with your Wife or Mother or Daughter having one to defend themselves with if  you were not around?
She will still probably keep the S&W anyway but I still want her to have something more powerful, Maybe once she gets comfortable with it she will start leaving the little Smith at home.
Vir prudens non contra ventum mingit
"A wise man does not pee against the wind".

Offline greenjeans

• A Real Regular
Rating the Keltec
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2006, 05:12:25 AM »
I carry mine a lot and trust it totally. Long trigger pull and will abrade your hand if shot a lot, but it works 100% of the time. Never had a malfunction. This is my second one and the first one was just as good. I don't feel bad about recommending them to anyone. You just have to get over the fact that it is not a highly polished/finished pistol. Inexpensive and it works.
Romans 8:38,39

Offline Sir Knight

• Share what you know & learn what you don't.
    • Triple-F Ranch
Rating the Keltec
« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2006, 04:10:53 PM »
I have the opposite view.

I've had bad luck with Kel-Tecs and would not depend on them to protect myself or my loved ones.
The shortest distance between a problem and a solution is the distance between your knees and the floor because the one who kneels to the Lord can stand up to anything.

Offline jgalar