Author Topic: USH rate of twist...and other questions.  (Read 613 times)

Offline ranchand99

• Trade Count: (0)
USH rate of twist...and other questions.
« on: July 28, 2006, 08:21:10 AM »
I am new to the slug gun scene,but have been researching for over a year.I thought the USH rate of twist was 1:34,but I see one member who has an "LE" with a 1:28 twist.How do you get one of the faster rate twist barrels?I can't seem to find the "LE" option anywhere on the H&R website..

I am wanting a 1:28 barrel since I have heard that it will shoot the 1900fps+ slugs better than the 1:34 barrel.

The gun I am thinking about getting is a 20ga USH deluxe w/3-9x44 tasco world class plus,and 10 boxes of rem copper solids.The guy said he has only shot it 10 times to sight it in,and never took it hunting.I think it's a good deal for only $275.I was going to get a 12ga,but if this is a good deal I'll get it.So my last question is..Is this a good deal?

Thanks in advance for any help/advice!

Offline Busta

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (5)
Re: USH rate of twist...and other questions.
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2006, 04:21:00 PM »
Welcome ranchand99,

You must be talking about my "LE"? It is a Limited Edition with the medallion in the stock, nothing special really, just has a NEF receiver and looks like the H&R Ultra Slug Hunter Deluxe sans the checkering. 

All the 20 ga have a 1-28" twist, the 12 ga is 1-35" in the H&R/NEF slug guns. Do you know how old the gun is? The second lettter in the serial # will let you know the year of manufacture.

HR = 2001, HS = 2002, HT = 2003, HU = 2004, HV = 2005, HW = 2006

You can continue backwards, but they do not use O's or Q's in the serial numbers, so HP = 2000, HN = 1999, HM = 1998 etc,.

If the gun is in good condition, with the scope and slugs, I would say it is a fair deal as long as the scope is something you like. You can buy a new one in my area for about $260 full bore retail, so you are going to have to make the call. Good luck.