Author Topic: Ruger SRH 454, serious accuracy problems  (Read 691 times)

Offline KYsquirrelsniper

• Trade Count: (0)
    • http://www.geocities.com/squirrelsniper/index.html
Ruger SRH 454, serious accuracy problems
« on: August 01, 2006, 07:48:28 AM »
I picked up a used (but seemingly in good condition) Ruger SRH in 454 a few months ago, and I simply cannot get the thing to produce anything resembling reasonable accuracy. If the gun had been new, I would have contacted Ruger right away, but since I bought it used, I've just tried a variety of loads hoping to find something that would be decent.

About the best I can get it to do is 6rds into 5" groups at 25yds from a rest. I've tried it with open sights and a 2x Leupold, both with the same results.

Since this is the first 454 I've ever owned, at first I thought that maybe it was just me having problems with the greater recoil, although I've been shooting 44mags for several years. However, I've tried both light and heavy 45 Colt loads, which are pussycats in the big SRH, and they are no better than the 454 loads. In the 454 loads, I've tried heavy bullets and light bullets as well as trying minimum loads all the way to max loads, and nothing has worked, some being so bad they wouldn't all 6 stay on a sheet of notebook paper at 25yds.

If anyone has any suggestions I'd sure like to hear them, or else this gun will be traded off for something else.
Close only counts in horse shoes and hand grenades.
http://www.geocities.com/squirrelsniper/index.html

Offline Questor

Re: Ruger SRH 454, serious accuracy problems
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2006, 08:01:21 AM »
There is probably a fix for this that isn't too expensive. The things I'd check, and you probably already have are:
1) Condition of the bore, especially near the muzzle
2) Condition of the muzzle crown for even the slightest irregularity
3) Cylinder alignment. Are there any signs of the bullets being shaved between the cylinder and the forcing cone?