Author Topic: Cleaning a Semi-Auto  (Read 558 times)

Offline XD9

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Contributor
  • Match Grade Makes A Difference!
Cleaning a Semi-Auto
« on: August 12, 2006, 11:08:27 PM »
I bought a used Bersa 380 ACP a while back to shoot plinker targets with.  It's in excellent shape and fires well but could use some cleaning up.  I've used my cleaning kit and oils, etc but I just can't seem to get it clean enough.  One of my friends said that he sometimes completely dissasembles his handguns and soaks all of the pieces in warm soapy water for a while.  He then takes them out, rinses and scrubs them, and uses a blow drier to get them completely dry.  He then proceeds to oil the gun up and reasemble it.

Has anyone else done this?  Will soaking your gun in water not hurt it as long as you completely dry and oil it afterwards?  Thanks.
I'm an accountant and I carry a gun...'nuff said

Offline kansas45

Re: Cleaning a Semi-Auto
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2006, 03:44:51 AM »
No, soapy water will not hurt four firearm. :o  Dissamble it completly, wash each part & rinse well with plenty of water. A cleaning agent like Simple Green work's well on hard to clean part's. Don't soak aluminum part's too long as the cleaner may damage them. I don't think it eat's them up but may discolor them. I use compressed air to dry the part's being very careful not to blow them away and loose them forever. Then assemble and oil the gun as normal. :)
AMERICA........Love it or leave it!

Offline XD9

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2006, 04:08:25 AM »
Thanks for the quick response!  I'll give it a try later today and see how well it can clean this thing up.  Thanks.

Offline rockbilly

« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2006, 08:36:24 AM »
A method I have used for years to clean all handguns works well for me, even when the gun is filthy.