Author Topic: 454 vs 44Mag  (Read 1256 times)

Offline MTRamMan

• Trade Count: (0)
454 vs 44Mag
« on: October 17, 2003, 12:41:44 PM »
Sorry if this has been discussed already, but I'm new here and couldn't find this topic. I live in MT and spend time in the mountains occassionaly. Here...I'm not at the top of the food chain, due to grizzlies in the woods. I plan to carry a can of counter assault bear spray, but still would like a back up weapon/ pistol. I have little experience with revolvers other than a 357 magnum. I've been told by several that 357 magnum is the smallest they would rec. for pistol caliber for protection from grizzlies. I would like to carry the biggest possible caliber that would still be "fun" to shoot and not be overly punishing on recoil. I'll be the first to shoot whatever is handed to me, but I'd still like to enjoy it at the same time.

What I'd like to hear is feedback from others with experience with these calibers, 44magnum , 454 casull and 480. I'm looking at ruger superhawks, as they feel great in my smaller hands, and Tarus Raging bulls. I like the fact that Tauurs ports their guns, but the Ruger felt more comfortable in my hands. I'm open to other choices as well if anyone cares to offer. Thanks for any input on this topic.

Dan

Offline myronman3

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (1)
454 vs 44Mag
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2003, 03:20:53 PM »
usually i pipe up about how i wish i had gone with the 44 mag,  then i read the word grizzlies.   i got lots of experience with blackies but  none with their larger kin.   in my mind bigger is better in your case.   either get  downloaded ammo or make your own if the recoil bothers you.  really though, it is less than you would expect.

Offline MS Hitman

• A Real Regular
454 vs 44Mag
« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2003, 05:09:38 PM »