Author Topic: Porting question  (Read 390 times)

Offline Questor

• Trade Count: (0)
Porting question
« on: September 18, 2006, 09:32:25 AM »
If you were to cut the ports on the bottom of the barrel instead of on the top, would the gun recoil more than the unported barrel?  Reason for asking? I really don't know how things like magna-porting work to reduce recoil.
Safety first

Offline Graybeard

• Administrator
  • Trade Count: (69)
Re: Porting question
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2006, 11:24:12 AM »
At least "in theory" yes. Real world? Well now that really depends. Depends on what you say? A lot of things I say.

Things like the pressure the round operates at, the velocity of the bullet and the actual pressure of the gases at the point of exit thru the ports, the weight of the ejecta, the weight of the gun and who knows how many other factors.

Bill aka the Graybeard
President, Graybeard Outdoor Enterprises
256-435-1125

I am not a lawyer and do not give legal advice.

Jesus is the way, the truth, and the life anyone who believes in Him will have everlasting life!

Offline Tom C.

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Contributor
« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2006, 04:00:27 AM »
The deal with gas ports to reduce recoil is they function like thrust reversers on jets, or the muzzle brakes on artillery.
Recoil is made up of 2 major components:
Inertial reaction to the accelerating mass of bullet and powder/gas, and
jet blast effect of high pressure gas exiting the muzzle after the bullet has left the barrel.

Muzzle brakes do several things: they
reduce the gas exiting the muzzle to reduce the gas jet effect by diverting it through the brake,
deflect gas to act against the inertia effect of the bullet accelerating through the barrel to reduce the straight aft recoil,
and produce a upward directed gas jet which reduces the rotation of the gun, particularly handguns, during recoil.